P44-xx - Advanced Configuration and Scripting

Introduction

plan44.ch develops and produces various devices for controlling lights, shades, controls and sensors in home automation, especially for the digitalSTROM system, but also custom devices for special LED effects in exhibitions and for art and theater projects.

All these products are built on a common software foundation developed by plan44 as OpenSource (GPLv3 license). It is a collection of modules that can be assembled into an application as needed, covering many subtasks needed for controller devices. The p44utils framework serves as the basis for all control applications. For the connection to digitalSTROM there is p44vdc, for driving complex graphics and animations based on smart LEDs (WS28xx etc.) the p44lrgraphics graphics library, and for special hardware in exhibition and art projects the p44features collection.

While the various devices each have their own configuration options and interfaces appropriate to the application, the options for advanced configuration and programming of sequences are the same in many places.

This documentation is about these common "subsystems" and how they are used. Whether it is a "feature light" in a digitalSTROM installation or an LED ticker for a theater project, both are defined with p44lrgraphics. Likewise, calculations and sequences, whether they occur in P44-DSB evaluators, in P44-LC triggers, or as the main program of an effect light installation with P44-LC LED controllers, are part of the p44script scripting language. Rather exotic, project specific functionalities like 24-fold RFID detector or controlling of mechanical split flap displays are mapped as p44feature to provide a unified API for control from local scripts or via network from a higher level control application.

Not every subsystem is included in every product. This documentation describes the complete functionality, if necessary with subchapters referring to single products.

Incomplete - Documentation under construction!

This documentation in this form is a brand new project, and is therefore still quite at the beginning. With time more and more information will be added.

Please note: Machine Translation

Most of this documentation was written in German and then machine translated to English using deepl. Probably, deepl's English is better than mine anyway, but still, please apologize if some parts might sound a bit weird.

Topics

P44-xx - Fortge­schrittene Konfiguration und Scripting

Einführung

plan44.ch entwickelt und produziert verschiedene Geräte zur Steuerung von Licht, Schatten, Bedienungselementen und Sensoren im Heimautomationsbereich, insbesondere für das digitalSTROM-System, aber auch kundenspezifische Geräte für spezielle LED-Effekte in Ausstellungen und für Kunst- und Theaterprojekte.

Alle diese Produkte bauen auf einem gemeinsamen Software-Fundament auf, das von plan44 als OpenSource (GPLv3 Lizenz) entwickelt wurde. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Sammlung von Modulen, die je nach Bedarf zu einer Anwendung zusammengebaut werden können, und viele Teilaufgaben für Steuerungen abdecken. Als Basis für alle Steuerungs­applikationen dient das p44utils-Framework. Für die Anbindung an digitalSTROM ist p44vdc zuständig, für Ansteuerung von komplexen Graphiken und Animationen auf Basis von Smart LEDs (WS28xx etc.) die Graphikbibliothek p44lrgraphics, und für Spezialhardware in Ausstellungs- und Kunstprojekten die p44features.

Während die verschiedenen Geräte jeweils eigene der Anwendung entsprechende Konfigurationsoptionen und -Oberflächen haben, sind die Möglichkeiten zur erweiterten Konfiguration und Programmierung von Abläufen an vielen Stellen dieselben.

In dieser Dokumentation geht es um diese gemeinsamen "Subsysteme" und deren Handhabung. Ob es sich um ein "Feature-Light" in einer digitalSTROM-Installation oder um eine LED-Laufschrift für ein Theaterprojekt handelt, beide werden mit p44lrgraphics definiert. Ebenso sind Berechnungen und Abläufe, ob sie nun in P44-DSB-Evaluatoren, in P44-LC-Triggern oder als Hauptprogramm einer Effektlichtinstallation mit P44-LC-LED-Controllern vorkommen, Teil der p44script-Scriptsprache. Eher exotische, projektspezifische Funktionalitäten wie z.B. 24-fach RFID-Detektor oder Ansteuerung von mechanischen Fallblattanzeigen sind als p44feature abgebildet um eine einheitliche API für Ansteuerung aus lokalen Scripten oder via Netzwerk von einer übergeordneten Steuerungsapplikation zu bieten.

Nicht jedes Subsystem is in jedem Produkt enthalten. Diese Dokumentation beschreibt jeweils die gesamte Funktionalität, ggf. mit Unterkapiteln die sich auf einzelne Produkte beziehen.

Unvollständig - Dokumentation im Aufbau!

Diese Dokumentation in dieser Form ist ein ganz neues Projekt, und steht deshalb noch ganz am Anfang. Mit der Zeit wird mehr und mehr Information dazukommen.

Themen

(s. auch Navigation im Menu)